Day 101, Diets and other stuff!

Yeah, my new time planner seems to be working, today I have done some work for a client, worked on a poster design for a fundraiser (a committee I am on) and left a slot to do some blogging, well actually hubby has gone out so I have some free time to catch up on my blog. I enjoy writing my blog (and reading other blogs) but it is always pushed back to being the last thing on my list and because of this I am now aware that I have not blogged about Day Zero since February, about Roller Derby since January and I blogged about a diet in February and have not mentioned it since. So, apart from Roller Derby which warrants a post of its own, this is going to be a bit of a catch up to keep you up to date on what I have been up to.

 

Image

Day Zero
885 Days to go, 13% complete.

Well without trying I have ticked off another two on my day zero list, #43 go to the theatre to see a show. I had a great evening in Oxford watching ‘An Evening of Burlesque’ with darling hubby, and #69 to tweet more, I am now up to 199 tweets, part of this is the fact that I have linked with my Facebook account so any public statuses are shared on twitter, and as Twitter now posts to my social and personal pages on Facebook I am inclined to compose tweets more.

I have also managed to mark a couple as ‘in progress’ and some of these are coming along quite nicely, I just have to remember to make a note of anything I do that is on my DZ list as trying to do it in retrospect is proving quite difficult – I know I have read books, watched movies, listened to new music and cooked new dishes but cannot remember at this point what they were.

 

Image

Diet
Remember me blogging about ‘The Two Day Diet’ that was serialized in the Daily Mail? (click here to read it).  Well the book arrived, and I had a look through and it is not as simple to do the diet as they made out, you still have to follow a Mediterranean diet for the other 5 days. A lot of my friends are having success with the 5:2 diet, where for two non-consecutive days a week you limit your calorie intake to just 500 calories, so I have decided to give this one a go.

My first challenge to face was to choose my days. I used to regularly have a ‘skinny day’ on a Monday out of guilt from the weekend excesses, so decided Monday would be one of my days, for the second day I needed to choose one where I did not have any roller derby training (could not do that on 500 calories) and one where I was not going to be rushing around too much. My only option was a Friday, great for feeling guilt free heading into the weekend. So Monday and Friday’s it is. So far I have had 3 fast days and lost 2lb. This way of dieting appeals to me as I can still eat normally the other 5 days, I have managed to maintain my weight on my ‘normal diet’ for 4 years now so must be doing something right, and on fast days only have to think – I can have that tomorrow if I want to.

If you are thinking of doing this diet be warned, it is tough to go a day on only 500 calories, I really struggled on the first day and did not space my meals/snacks out enough and ended up with a raging head ache and feeling sick, the second day was slightly easier as I had two small meals well spaced out, I did not get a headache this time, however, I could have eaten my own arm by 6pm and was seriously tired and ratty. I now space my calorie intake out even more, I am not a morning eater anyway so find 120 calories at 11am, 120 calories at 1pm, 250 calories at 6pm and then a 10 calorie jelly at 8pm works, I don’t feel as tired – and I drink either water or black tea with sweeteners during the day to make me feel full.

 

Image

Work
I went self-employed in January, however, because of my operation I did not do any marketing till a couple of weeks ago and have already had interest in my services and taken on a new client – a short term project that will need regular ad hoc work in the future. I have existing clients but this is my first since launching as Sharon Greenwood SMART (http://www.smartofficeservices.net)

Portfolio Building
This ties into work as it is something I need to do to build my business, so I have been doing some ‘free’ stuff to gain experience in areas where my portfolio is ‘unqualified’ or ‘inexperienced’. One of these areas is desktop publishing and specifically programme/brochure/e-magazine production. My roller derby team hosted their first open door bout on Sunday 21st April and I helped create the poster and programme for them – take a look here at the poster and view the programme here.

 

Image


Studying

Anyone who knows me well knows that I am an eternal student. I love to study and take exams and it is very rare for me not to be attending a course or doing a correspondence course. I take some courses ‘just for fun’ however this time it is work related. I want to be able to offer a (locally) unique service, and focus on an area that will be useful to my other ‘services offered’ so signed up to do a proofreading and copyediting correspondence course, it was delivered a month ago now, and as yet I have not had a chance to look at it. This is the first time ever, that I have not jumped on the box as soon as it arrived and got ‘stuck in’ so I must have been feeling pretty rough when it arrived.

 

As always,
thanks for reading

‘Hoping to keep on top of it now’
Sharon x

Find me on Facebook – just click the logo
Image

Leave a Reply

